Healthy Eating on a Budget

11Apr08

Ok, so it’s been a while, but here I am again. Today’s topic is going to be one that is near and dear to my heart. How on earth do you eat healthy on a budget?

I am going to be doing some grocery shopping tomorrow and lately my food budget is very short. Finding healthy items that can be purchased cheaply is not easy. The salad mix that costs the least, is also the one that is mostly water and is not something that is considered to be healthy, as I get the iceberg lettuce variety. I do buy ground turkey instead of ground beef saving on fat, and if I can find it and it’s not more expensive than the regular, I’ll probably buy whole wheat pasta instead of regular pasta.

But the biggest problem is that the fresh fruits and veggies that I should be eating are so expensive it’s ridiculous. Even at the farmer’s market during the summer these things are horribly priced. So how do you eat healthy on a budget?

One Response to “Healthy Eating on a Budget”

  1. 1 Jj

    Healthy foods can get so expensive, I know! Makes it very tough, but in season fruits and veggies are always a good way to go.


Leave a Reply

